My first foray into Coogee Community Garden

On Sunday I did something that I’ve been thinking about doing for a loooong time, I finally went to a community garden gathering! For about two years now, I’ve walked past various community gardens around Sydney and daydreamed about harvesting my own fresh kale, spinach, broccoli..and the list goes on.

My closest community garden in the area is Coogee Community Garden (located on Dolphin Street), which is conveniently a five minute walk from my place! I moved to Coogee almost two years ago now and absolutely love it, it has such a little village atmosphere feel for a suburb so close to the city. I’d walked past the site where the community garden currently is and over the past two years watched it blossom from a vacant lot, to many healthy and happy vegetables growing in MANY plots!

It was great to finally connect with the Coogee Community Garden and its members. Everyone was so friendly and open, and it was a great first experience into gardening in an urban environment. I started off weeding and talking to various members, then moved on to getting the mulch around all the plots to prevent weeds from getting into them.

Overall the experience was really great, getting my hands dirty and meeting vibrant people from the surrounding community was a great thing to connect to on a relaxing Sunday.

So thank you Coogee Community Garden 🙂

IMG_4006 IMG_4002 IMG_3997 IMG_3994 IMG_4004

Leave a Reply

